2020 leads have completely dried up

Community Regular
Best Answer

I am a business consultant, CPA, and professional coach.  I have received exactly zero leads in the last 8-10 weeks.  Am I the only one?  I am promoting my services and have very competitive pricing.  I was extremely busy through March and getting multiple leads a day.  I mean I was spending upward of $1,500 monthly on leads and was selling enough business to make that entirely worthwhile.  My reviews are top notch and I was a top pro in 2019.  Is this simply a COVID thing?  Your responses are appreciated.  Thank you!

replies

Re: 2020 leads have completely dried up

Active Community Member
Best Answer
Most likely because people can't see you now in their search if you don't have the famous ridiculously expensive 'targeting' turned on in your profile. Thumbtack is losing many pros who were wiling to pay large amounts of money on their site only to be screwed on pricing recently. Mine have about tripled and are an average price of $60 to $100 PER LEAD! Thumbtack WAS great, but now a total failure in my book.

Community Regular
Best Answer
I actually have targeting turned on. The answer I received from TT was that they haven’t received any leads to distribute. I find that so hard to believe because most of us work remotely and encompass the entire U.S. Thank you so much for your reply.

Community Regular
Best Answer
So I think your situation is probably different than AAWs or mine. It sounds to me like you have neither competition nor are you receiving leads. So you are not paying out for leads if you are not getting them. And you mentioned it dried up after March. So what I see with your scenario is COVID hit the US full force in March. People's businesses were forced closed. People were layed off, and even the people when were able to work from home and continued to receive a paycheck were uncertain about the future so they did not want to spend the extra money for consulting and coaching.