Highlighted

Review Policy Nightmare

Community Regular
Best Answer

I am a Thumbtack top pro, and have been with Thumbtack for over a decade. Currently I have 107 verified ratings and reviews with only two reviews less than a "5".  This context is important to understand what happened to me, and to warn other pros about a gaping  flaw with Thumbtack's review policy.  This past week I received a direct lead from a client. As would most pros, I responded to the post, which was extremely vague without any real explanation of what was needed.  (I provide video production services)  Typically unless a client provides some specific details about their project, the best I can do is to provide a estimate of the job, with an explanation that I would need further information to provide an accurate quote.  My responses to direct leads are always prompt, courteous and as helpful as possible.  Well, apparently not! After sending the response to the post, this particular client sent me this message: "Your giving a quote and then asking what my needs are, to me ,is truly unprofessional and implies You do not care or are not concerned with details." Immediately following this I received a one-star rating from the client accompanied by the words "pay attention".   Understand that other than responding to the original request for a quote, I had no interaction with this client, no verbal discussions, no written discussions, nothing.  Now for a top pro in a very competitive field of contractors, this would be devastating. I have spent thousands of dollars on leads with Thumbtack.com. It is and remains one of my important sources of work. To receive an arbitrary rating like that can cost me thousands of dollars. I attempted to resolve this by calling customer support.  Both the agent I spoke to and the supervisor I spoke to simply kept telling me the same thing: a response to request for a quote represents an "interaction" and the client at that point is allowed to leave a review. Not