Have a question for Marco?

Community Veteran
13 348 9,921
On Thursday, March 21st, we'll be hosting a live Q&A with Thumbtack CEO and co-founder, Marco Zappacosta (@MarcoZ).

Post your question here for a chance to win $100 in Thumbtack credit. Terms apply.

Want to know what we're working on at Thumbtack? Interested in learning more about our vision and strategy?

Marco will answer some of your questions live during the Q&A on March 21st.

All other questions will get a written response in the days that follow. Our moderation team is on hand to answer support questions, too.

Thanks for all that you do!
348 responses
Community Newcomer
I am a deck builder. Over the last year, my deck leads fees have increased considerably. Though I understand this , I feel that they have spiked a little too high at this point. In addition, your fee structure does not differentiate between a deck build and a repair causing me to dismiss any repairs due to the inability to make a profit from them (i.e.- repair a few boards on a 300+sqft deck costs me 75% of my profit in thumbtack fees.

Secondly, I feel it is only fair to charge the fee to the builder that received the job. Not ALL whom reply. This is where most of my losses in profits come from. I'll happily pay a fee for a job I get, but I don't feel that you charge and collect five $75 fees and only one contractor actually gets the work to justify the fee.

Can we please work on formulating a more accurate and affordable fee structure?
Community Regular

Hello, Marco (please hang in there with me, I know this is rather long but SO important, and my questions are at the bottom):

First off, I just want to thank you for revving up the Thumbtack community, as well as hosting this live Q&A.