results: 10
topic id 32384: Private Chef/Catering Pricing
topic id 26197: Paying twice for the same lead
topic id 25265: Pricing
topic id 24883: The purpose of promotion and set your budget in advance
topic id 22503: Leads
topic id 22064: Questionable leads
topic id 14288: Declined "Leads" charged
topic id 19454: Marketing Executive From Thumbtack Chooses Promoted Lead, Then Radio Silence
topic id 18206: New Model?
topic id 100: Is quick reply worthy of charge?
InspectorRon
Level 5

No business yet..

Hello! I am a home inspector trying to get business here, I joined about 2 months ago and have had zero business so far. So today I searched as a customer for a home inspector in my area to see hoe that works and my business is no where to be found. I searched in my zip code and got 24 other inspectors though. To date I have received about 40 messages from so called '..people looking for home inspectors', I always respond immediately and sent estimates to most of them. I tried both medium and finally low pricing just to see if anyone would respond, because by now I am thinking nobody is receiving my estimates and I have no way of confirming if they did. But finally yesterday I got my first reply, but only because the customer asked me if my 225.00 fized price covered the cost of two inspections, really?  (frustrating) I was charged for the lead just because he asked that question. Most of the time the potential customer rarely fills out the form completely so I am compelled 95% of the time to ask for more information. But if I do that then I will be paying every time a potential customer ask a question that should have been made clear in their form filing process anyway. The whole Targeting or Promoting features are also a little confusing. It seems like it would work better for everyone if we just paid Thumbtack a commission for each job we got hired on. Also, I know we can pull in references from other sites and I was going to do that until during the process I was w