results: 10
topic id 32384: Private Chef/Catering Pricing
topic id 26197: Paying twice for the same lead
topic id 25265: Pricing
topic id 24883: The purpose of promotion and set your budget in advance
topic id 22503: Leads
topic id 22064: Questionable leads
topic id 14288: Declined "Leads" charged
topic id 19454: Marketing Executive From Thumbtack Chooses Promoted Lead, Then Radio Silence
topic id 18206: New Model?
topic id 100: Is quick reply worthy of charge?
Highlighted
aylads
Level 6

Thumbtack Automatic Quotes and high cost

I have been with Thumbtack for 4 years and am seriously considering leaving. I loved the ability to offer personalized quotes so people got an idea about my business and what I offered. I could also set the price depending on the job and the cost was fair. Also, the price for quotes was wonderful and fair as well. Since this new automatic quote system came out, I have not been hired in four months and I am a Top Pro with over 51 hires. And you cannot turn the automatic quote off or you get zero quotes. I get quoted under budget and over charged. For example, I was hired for a realty shot. I usually charge $100 for a single home, up to 3000sq feet. This client was sent a cold quote for $100 for a 4 duplex condo, something which I would charge $200 for and then Thumbtack charged me $18, when it used to only charge me $5. So I only make $82 on a $200 job. I am losing money staying with Thumbtack. Another example is that I was charged $17 for a $150 headshot session and the client has not even hired me. That is a lot of money to lose. Back in the day, if I lost $6 for a quote that didn't pan out, it was not such a big deal, but those big numbers add up quickly. This is just two examples of many. I know you are all experiencing this change. 
Please excuse the rant. I am just so frustrated

Occupations (1)
50 responses
DCFGCatering
Level 8

Re: Thumbtack Automatic Quotes and high cost