Highlighted

Military Apprecition Month

Community Veteran
Best Answer

With this being Military Appreciation Month I'd like to share my story of how my Air Force career & how that experience helped shaped my life & got me started in the DJ business. Long before I enlisted in the Air Force one of my passions was listening to the radio. Born & raised in Chicago there were many great radio stations & radio personalities to listen to. I hoped that I could get into broadcasting someday. After I graduated high school in 1980, I enlisted in the Air Force. I tried to get into the Communications career field when I enlisted but my test scores weren’t quite high enough, so I enlisted in an open general career field. After I finished Tech School my first assignment was at Bergstrom AFB in Austin, TX. My first exposure to the DJ field was as a 19-year-old working at a bar located not too far from the base called the ‘Time Out Lounge’. The drinking laws in Texas back then was you could be 19 years old & drink. The pay wasn’t great, but the experiences were memorable. Keep in mind I’m 19 years old & a long ways away from home for the first time. So, as you can imagine dealing with the public who in most cases had quite a few to drink & requesting that their song be played next was quite a lot to deal with. But I made it through that first night & many nights after that. My next assignment was a remote assignment overseas. I was stationed in Iceland for a year. It was a small base. The base had an Airmen’s Club. The club had a DJ booth in there. Anyone could be up there if they so desired. Guess where I wound up most nights? I didn’t get paid but I really didn’t care. I had so much fun & met so many great people. My Iceland tour was probably the most fun & one of the best years of my life. That was my last exposure to be a DJ until I got out of the service in 1986. I returned home to Chicago. I still had the desire though to continue my DJ passion. For the next few years I worked