Highlighted

Anyone else who works remotely nationally suddenly only showing up in your hometown search?

Community Regular
Best Answer

Over the past two weeks, I have gone from regularly having 3500-5000 views and spending quite a bit weekly with Thumbtack. I was thrilled actually because as a life/career coach, I was getting great clients all around the country, getting great reviews and making a huge positive impact in many, many lives. The slide began a couple of weeks ago but I attributed it to the fluctuations of the job market, covid, etc. However, last week, I didn't get one lead and my insight views were down to 1000. This week, I'm down to 76 views -- yep, from 5000. I checked some random markets where I have had clients in the past and I'm nowhere to be seen in the options. Contrasting, I noticed that a non Top pro coach with 2 hires on Thumbtack was listed in both markets (my own and NYC)... say what? I have been getting a run around from support that is almost comical -- as if they are using bots for customer service -- and I promise, I'm not usually a complainer but this is a MAJOR change to my incoming client base. Yes, my profile is beyond solid. My preferences are targeted and clear. My hours are reasonable (nothing has changed). I was getting steady leads AND even reaching out to relevant opportunities. I have been noting steady hires and continuing to get reviews. They suggested that I add services in those other markets (what?) but I'm not going to say that I'm a hypnotherapist nor am I going to start writing resumes in the hopes that MAYBE I will start showing up in national searches again.