I like promoting my business. It just makes sense.

Community Manager TaylorS
Community Manager
6 8 1,052

Screen Shot 2019-02-19 at 12.28.05 PM.png

[The following story was written and submitted by Top Pro Leslie Taylor (@RevDrLCT)] 

I started my business on Thumbtack in February 2017. I’m a wedding officiant — I’ve done about 70 weddings through Thumbtack, plus referrals from those weddings. When I first started, I’d chase down every lead on my schedule. Since I was doing it part-time, I didn’t really stress about “Oh, I need to have X number of weddings per month.” It was initially “Christmas” money. Fun money.

Now I’ve left my other job and will focus on doing weddings full time. Now I do have to worry about the number of weddings I get per month. But showing up in search results hasn’t changed anything for me. Being in the list, when somebody wants to find a wedding officiant, then I’m right there with six other people or whatever. The customer can see that I’m a Top Pro, what my ratings are, and they can click to learn more about me. When they reach out to me and a few other people, they’ve already done their homework. They’ve thought about what they want. So when I talk to them, it’s just about whether or not I’m the right fit. I like giving the customer the option of looking and doing their own research and not having us chase after them. The customer’s in the driver’s seat. It’s their choice. So it’s my responsibility to make my profile stand out to them.

I’ve looked myself up on Thumbtack before. It’s kind of fun. I want to look at people that are ahead of me. I want to look at their profile to see if there is anything I can tweak in my own. I think I’m one of the top three or four. I’m generally on that first page, which is helpful. And I promote my business on Thumbtack now.