Thumbtack dropped me from the search results!

Community Newcomer
Best Answer

I have been using Thumbtack for about 7 months. When I first signed up I used targetting for about a week, but quickly realized it was not a fair system for me and turned it off. Since then I have never used targetting. Thumbtack has been a good service overall with getting me business. Though I do have a lot of problems with the amounts they charge for leads, the inconsistency of the charges, and how you pay for a lead reguardless of being hired. Though overall I cannot complain with the business I have received for what I have paid for.  I have maintained a perfect 5 star review on Thumbtack from 37 verified reviews. I have also received a "Top Pro" badge (which I'm starting to believe means absolutely nothing). The end of February I had to travel out of state and put my business on hold. There were a lot of leads that came through that I declined because of being out of state. Once I came back to town I found that my Thumbtack business fell off a cliff and I was no longer receiving leads. I tried looking up myself for the various services I offer and found I am not showing up at all on any of the searches. Therefore no one else will be able to find me either. When I contacted Thumbtack the only answer they gave me was that "its because I do not have targetting turned on". I do not buy this response. The only thing that makes sense to me is that since I was not accepting those leads that they dropped me from the site. I talked to multiple customer service representatives and they all gave me the same answer. I would love to hear from you guys why this is the case. Its become very clear to me that Thumbtack does not care about the pros on their site and only wants to try and force you into using their targetting system.

States
replies
Highlighted

Re: Thumbtack dropped me from the search results!

Community Expert
Best Answer