Filter by message states (for user id: -1, login: Anonymous):
results: 10
topic id 32826: Raising prices but do not state what the prices are!!!!!
topic id 32384: Private Chef/Catering Pricing
topic id 26197: Paying twice for the same lead
topic id 25265: Pricing
topic id 24883: The purpose of promotion and set your budget in advance
topic id 22503: Leads
topic id 22064: Questionable leads
topic id 14288: Declined "Leads" charged
topic id 19454: Marketing Executive From Thumbtack Chooses Promoted Lead, Then Radio Silence
topic id 18206: New Model?
Highlighted
ErrorUnknown
Level 5

First impressions and suggestions

I have been using websites and apps like Thumbtack for about 8 years now. I run a very successful IT business with 2 part-time employees and virtually no overhead. There is a lot of money to be made in any industry working as a contractor. In the end that is what we are when we take jobs through thumbtack or any website. We are contractors.

I like a lot of things about thumbtack. Compared to the other websites I use it's much more personal. Whether or not that will actually make a difference remains to be seen. Other than that thumbtack really isn't very different from most other job platform sites. With one exception. If you've used any other platform you already know what it is. Paying for leads.

I don't necessarily have a problem with it. I'm not against or for paying for leads. All but one of the other websites I use treat the contractor's / professionals on the site as fodder for the buyers whom they consider their actual customers.

Buyers make all the rules. You either accept them and succeed or fail miserably. There are no exceptions. The rules are concrete. Take it or leave it.