Filter by message states (for user id: -1, login: Anonymous):
results: 9
topic id 25265: Pricing
topic id 24883: The purpose of promotion and set your budget in advance
topic id 22503: Leads
topic id 26197: Paying twice for the same lead
topic id 22064: Questionable leads
topic id 14288: Declined "Leads" charged
topic id 19454: Marketing Executive From Thumbtack Chooses Promoted Lead, Then Radio Silence
topic id 18206: New Model?
topic id 100: Is quick reply worthy of charge?
Highlighted

How a potential job thought I was in Georgia (I'm in NYC)

As a Thumbtack pro, I see a lot of absurd job offers, as if it's worth it for me to check the power supply on a desktop computer across the country, or possible to swap a laptop screen over the phone. 

This is a problem I think Thumbtack should address. And now I have some documentation:  Someone I know in GA was clearly led to believe I was a LOCAL pro.  I'm in NY.

Take a look: she started with a Google search for iMac repair:
fullsizeoutput_6d2.jpeg
Thumbtack, your ad clearly suggests a click will lead to LOCAL pros ("Near Me"). But I'm in NY, not GA.

So she clicks, and sees....ME!  ...and a zip code in GA which I'm nowhere near.

fullsizeoutput_6d3.jpeg

Now, I am really happy with being listed at all, prominently, and with the phrase "in high demand" (or do you put that for all higher-priced pros?).  It's great to show up in Google search results too.

But it sure looks here like I'm in the GA zip code of 30004, doesn't it?  I sure am not.

Naturally, she clicks on this in-demand pro, who seems to be nearby.  But the location is again dead wrong; maybe it was put there by geolocating her IP address, but it sure looks here like I'm in GA. And I'm really not. 

So you get a dissatisfied potential Thumbtack user.   I don't think this outcome benefits anyone.

fullsizeoutput_6d5.jpeg

States
32 responses

Re: How a potential job thought I was in Georgia (I'm in NYC)