results: 10
topic id 32384: Private Chef/Catering Pricing
topic id 26197: Paying twice for the same lead
topic id 25265: Pricing
topic id 24883: The purpose of promotion and set your budget in advance
topic id 22503: Leads
topic id 22064: Questionable leads
topic id 14288: Declined "Leads" charged
topic id 19454: Marketing Executive From Thumbtack Chooses Promoted Lead, Then Radio Silence
topic id 18206: New Model?
topic id 100: Is quick reply worthy of charge?
Philbomb
Level 6

I believe that Thumbtacks "Ranking" system is unethical

I'm having a problem, and I don't seem to be able to get the Thumbtack administration to consider that their algorithm system is unethical.  I have been a Thumbtack Dog Training Professional with Thumbttack since 2015.  In July of 2015 I started a Training business in Clemson, S.C.  When January 2016 came, I was named one of the "Top Ten Trainers" in the Clemson/Greenville area.  During that time I maintained a 5 Star review average.  In July of 2016 I was named a "Top Pro ".   I maintained a 5 Star review average, and in January of 2017, I was again named a "Top Pro", and again had maintained a 5 star average.    In January of 2017, I moved my business from Clemson, S.C., to San Juan Capistrano, Ca.  In July of 2017, and January 2018, again "Top Pro"; again 5 star average maintained.  Earlier this year, Thumbtack entirely changed the framework of the their "lead" process.  Between 2015, and 2019, Thumbtack increased the cost of answering "leads" from$3 - $5 to around an average cost of $15.  Thumbtack also initiated the "Promote" and "Insta-quote" concepts.  These concepts are heavily marketed, but are not mandatory or required to use Thumbtack.  I initially promoted and insta-quoted.  I'm a one man operation, and can only cover a limited area geographically.  My travel radius is 25 miles or the area of zip code 92675.  I set my travel preferences at 25 miles.  Thumbtack somehow was not going by my selected mileage preferrences, but w