Highlighted

Professional Courtesy

Active Community Member
Best Answer

The theme of this post is “professional courtesy.” I worked in marketing and advertising for 30 years or so prior to starting my video business full-time. In all those years, I can count on one hand the number of times I solicited a bid, interviewed candidates for jobs, sought a vendor or anything else where I requested inquiries, that I didn’t get back to people who had applied to be considered. ALL of them! An old friend once told me that “no” was an acceptable answer, and far better than just leaving folks hanging, assuming that if they didn’t hear from me, I had gone in a different direction. So, it incenses me some 30 years later when I reach out to someone regarding a project, only to be “ghosted,” rather than told that someone else had been selected. Sadly, this has become the norm, not the exception.

It only takes a few minutes to let people know where they stand, and your reputation will be far better served if you do. Otherwise, people will tag you in a less-than-complimentary manner – and that word WILL get around.

Be guided accordingly...here endeth the lesson.

replies
Highlighted

Re: Professional Courtesy

Community Newcomer
Best Answer