Add your prices. Get a rank boost.

Thumbtack Employee
Thumbtack Employee
2 14 1,627

We’ve heard from customers that seeing pro prices upfront is important. It gives them a sense of what it's like to work with you and whether you are the right fit for the job. By posting your prices upfront, you should get fewer price shoppers and can stand out from other professionals.

This is why we've been working to allow professionals like you to post your prices on Thumbtack. And this option is now available in the new search results experience!

Showing your prices will make you more competitive in search results. And when customers reach out, they will already know your prices and be serious about working with you. You'll also get a rank boost in search results.

You can set up and post your prices in your Services page. Pricing setup will look something like this:

[de4cd92edcec17c9175e8a5cfbf6c556]_Image 2018-11-07 at 1.55.35 PM.png

The prices you post should reflect your typical rates, but keep in mind, your prices are just estimates. You can always adjust them based on the job details.

However, we understand some services can't be priced upfront. If you need more details to offer a price, consider:

  • Adding a starting price to let customers know the minimum they can expect to spend.
  • Using your profile to tell customers why you need to learn more about the job before you can give a personalized estimate.

Let us know if you have any questions! We’d love to hear from you.

14 responses
Community Expert

How do I add prices for every event that I service? My DJ services range from church/school functions, parties, graduations, weddings, etc.

I added my pricing in my profile, but where on Thumbtack do I add prices for each event???

And in my profile, besides trying to explain my services, pricing, etc. how do I keep it to a minimum without having customer move on to someone else? Before this stupid change, Instant Match sent quote and I was able to follow up with a personable message(if customer is looking for basic service, etc), trying to help them.

Why the change? I'm a very personable person, and been successful for 29 years. Now I'm told by several reps at Thumbtack to change who I am, "just sit back and wait for a reply".  Been successful this year at Thumbtack as well, but even though I get hired, not many customers "hire" me, leave a review, or return messages. Why doesn't Thumbtack insist on customers to do those simple things?

 

Community Manager
Community Manager

Thanks for reaching out @DJStevie. At this time, you have the option to have different prices for the three different event types; Wedding, Corporate, and all others. I'll be sure to pass the feedback along that you still want it more specific. For school functions, parties, and graduation do you charge different prices depending on the number of people or just because the events are different? Any specifics you can provide would be extremely helpful! 
We made this change keeping both customers and pros in mind. 
We’re always working hard to make sure we introduce you to the right customers and we want customers walking away with confidence that they're going to get their project done. As customers answer questions about their project, we show them a variety of pros that are a good match. Then, they pick the pros that they like best and reach out directly. This way, you know that every customer that messages you has already seen your profile and made the choice to contact you. 
Not to worry, you can still be personable in your responses to the customer as well as well as in your profile. Let me know if you have any questions. 

Community Expert

Thank you for your reply. I sent you a private message

Active Community Member

I don't like listing specific prices id much rather enter a general price range like $100-$175.  It's all ways so awkward having to tell a customer "I know you thought it was $100 but in your situation its $145"  just feels like it puts a bad taste in there mouth.  Now a price range gives you flexibility and it makes it easier to ask the customer questions about there project. I'm definitely no app/web/marketing developer but wouldn't it be easier for TT to let the pros type a range and let them explain to the customer the sub-categoriesand price differences? 

Community Regular

I dont see an option to do this for 3D modeling or engineering and technical design. This would be an hourly rate.

Community Regular

I went to the app to turn on Instant Match tonight and don't see the switch there. Is my app not functioning properly or did you just remove it without first telling us it would vanish tonight?

Community Manager
Community Manager

@JSGDS @MrKingslien as of right now, it's set up as an hourly rate. You bring up some great feedback on why having a range would be helpful for your business' in particular. I'll pass it along! Thanks for your suggestions. 

Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi, @nunz we have changed from Instant Match to promote. If you look into your settings, you'll see that you have the option to promote all of your services. When you're services are promoted, we'll send your info to customers who's job match your preferences, just like we did with Instant Match. This article here has a lot of helpful info about promote. Check it out and let me know if you have any questions!

Community Regular
This is nothing but wrong. For someone that is new to thumbtack, this will not be the app for them. At least till they get a few number of feedback. But it will be hard for them to get hired due to customers who will basically pick you out of a lineup.
Since the customer picks you out of a lineup, now it makes it that much harder for people with low and high prices. And no prices as well. People with low prices might get picked first over the people with high prices. Especially if they are offering the same thing. So if I don’t have pricing, customers contact me, then I get charged for that? No I think I will pass on using it.
The pricing in my opinion is high already from how it used to be. Then it basically double. Now your telling me that I only get charge for when a customer contacts me. That’s like double jeopardy. What if I don’t want to be contacted for that type of job? What if I’m already booked and they contact me for the same date? What if it’s in a area I don’t want to go in? These are things that “thumbtack” should take into consideration!
Community Regular

Why didn't you tell us ahead of time that Instant Match would be removed?

Community Manager
Community Manager

@nunz it's not completely removed, we've just made some changes to it. Promote essentially works a lot like Instant Match, but better and fits well with our new system. We made the decision to announce this once we announced the new system to help eliminate confusion.

Community Regular

I dont see any option for setting price for the Video Production category. I'm not fond of the idea of stating pricing like this, but I'd at least like clients to understand that I'm not the cheap option. I should be able to set an hourly rate if nothing else. Screen Shot 2018-11-09 at 10.38.57 PM.png

Moderator
Moderator

@Rdouthit some categories won't have the option to list pricing. We know that some categories are a bit more complicated and will require discussion with the customer. Just know if it's this way for you it will be the same for other pros in that category. I'd recommend laying out how your video production pricing works in your profile for them to see.

Community Regular

In regard to the some categories won't have pricing, can I suggest that mine be inluded? One of my services is scanning photos. I scan prints, negatives and slides. They each have a different pricing structure, plus resolution scanned, plus an option for prints that is not available for slides or negs, etc. I don't like being automatically matched and then charged. My "match" today is not in my free pickup/delivery area either so my price is now totally misleading to the customer. I can certainly discuss with him about the rush fee I would have to charge because he needs it so fast (which I would normally waive it being for a funeral but he lives almost 50 miles from me).

As a customer I get it, we all like to see prices or at least a range to see if I can even afford a service even if it's of higher value than another. In this case however it works against me. That's why I turned off Instant Match when that's what it was called, I immediately got a customer who was totally wrong and it was a waste of time for both of us. Needless to say I never heard from her again.