Filter by message states (for user id: -1, login: Anonymous):
results: 10
topic id 100: Is quick reply worthy of charge?
topic id 11582: Pricing
topic id 7183: I'm trying to remove a credit card remove ,from payments,system wont let me
topic id 5571: Pricing
topic id 7120: Charging practices
topic id 7090: Insanity
topic id 6931: TV commercial
topic id 5713: Quote pricing / how much will I pay per quote?
topic id 5305: Website Design Pricing
topic id 3937: Unhappy with thumbtack
Highlighted

Remote Computer Repair

When I started with Thumbtack it was just a few jobs a month for me, local repairs around Indianapolis. I’ve been a Thumbtack pro for about 4 years and have received 106 reviews (4.8 avg) out of 157 hires. I consider myself a high-quality technician and work very hard for my clients.

I began to transition to a remote computer repair format last year, and my launch coincided with the launch of the instant match system. For the first couple of months business boomed, but over the last 5-6 months or it has come down to a trickle of instant matches and even fewer actual jobs.

Even though I mark myself clearly as a remote repair tech, a large portion of the instant matches I pay for end up being folks looking for a local repair tech. Another large portion of the matches are people who never respond in any way.  Maybe 30% of the instant matches are both a real person and also looking for a remote technician. I am not happy about this, but am doing my best to roll with it.

However, a few days ago I got a message from TT saying I’ve been listed in search results or something, I dunno. What interested more was the example listing they showed which presented my pricing against like 8 other techs. I HAD NO IDEA!