Filter by message states (for user id: -1, login: Anonymous):
results: 9
topic id 25265: Pricing
topic id 24883: The purpose of promotion and set your budget in advance
topic id 22503: Leads
topic id 26197: Paying twice for the same lead
topic id 22064: Questionable leads
topic id 14288: Declined "Leads" charged
topic id 19454: Marketing Executive From Thumbtack Chooses Promoted Lead, Then Radio Silence
topic id 18206: New Model?
topic id 100: Is quick reply worthy of charge?

taxes and deductibles

If I am self employed, what makes more tax sense, keeping all my receipts for deductions, or just simply filing the maximum deduction amount allowed? Is there a tipping point where one makes more sense?

Occupations (1)
States
9 responses
Highlighted
confidentmac
Level 6

Re: taxes and deductibles

I think it's worth filing Schedule C and identifying deductions. There may be a tipping point as a solopreneur in terms of income and when you might want to incorporate instead. I'm not an expert here, though. Can I can connect you with a tax professional I trust who can help you out?

Disclaimer: not a CPA either, but I think it’s worth while to pile up those receipts and try to itemize deductions or atleast see what works best at the end of the year. Find a CPA that’s an expert in your industry that can help you identify deductions you may not have thought about and make sure you are structured the best way for your situation. Also, use ReceiptBank or a similar app, it’s such a timesaver, you’ll love it!!
Community Manager JasonB
Community Manager

Hey @ZackOfAllTrades - if the replies above were helpful, you can click the "Accept as Solution" button! 

0 Kudos
Serge
Level 6

Well, I can be wrong. But if you're filing for the maximum allowed deductions, and dont actually have done those things, that's tax fraud. As a business, you should be keeping and tracking every expense goin out, and hopefully have a good accountant who can file your deductions properly.