Highlighted

Client omitting detail of project.

Community Newcomer
Best Answer

I truly want to know what the client wants but the majority of people don't give details. If I was a doctor I would not know if they wanted a splinter removed or brain surgery. Many different types of doctors that specialize or are looking for one type of medical procedure. Seems there is no understanding of the services we many artists have.

As an artist, I do many things but many I do not. Illustration has hundreds of styles, mediums, and applications. Cartoon, realism, characterization, portrait and the list goes on and on. So, when I get a request with no detail I have to pass. Anything else would be a gamble. Even with the new policy, it's a shot into a cold probability. The chance the client writes back to say they found another artist or with additional questions and you paid for it. Better questions and required description would solve most of the issues. I'm not a gambler or so desperate to throw money without a target.

Currently, without pricing displayed on the requests, my budget can't guess expenditures even with limits we set in the profile, and I have to pass on what could be the most interesting projects.

Require clients to say something about the project details, budget or other salient details or I can't even consider.

States
replies
Highlighted

Thumbtack Success

Community Regular
Best Answer

I really like Thumbtack even though i have posted some frustring posts (like many of us).

But i know they are trying to make things better and work for all of us the best they can, yes slowly, but im sure they're working on it.

If they would get people that owned their business and had experience in each of the fields listed in the 'services' category, and let THEM give the neccessary feedback that they know would work for both parties, i believe Thumbtack would be the best thing ever.