International Women's Day

Danielle_Penn
Danielle_Penn Community Leader Posts: 38

Here are some questions to think about today, on International Women's Day:

1. Tell me about your business. How did you get started? I have always loved photography and decided to intern while being an office manager for a dental office. Six months after interning, I started Danielle Penn Photography. I have been a Wedding Photographer now since 2014 and I thoroughly enjoy “capturing love stories” on a weekly basis. 
  2. When did you decide to start your own business? Was there a defining moment when you realized this was your path or calling?  As mentioned I started after interning and just knew that what I see through my camera lens, is very different than what the average person sees. I knew I was always meant to be a photographer. 
  3. What do you wish you knew when you were first starting out on your own? Trust myself more and it is okay to ask for advice. So many people will take advantage of you and one must understand that it is not okay. Learn to respect and protect yourself with agreements and contracts. 
  4. Tell us about a time when you felt like you overcame a gender stereotype in your field. I was interning for a male professional photographer and he always said that the industry was better suited for males given the heavy equipment, long hours of carrying cameras, lights, stands. I never let that turn me away from my passion of what I want to do.