Ideas to Optimize My Profile and Website to Attract the Right Clients

Options

Hi Thumbtackers! 😎 In my industry (high level independent music teaching), it is very hard to gain committed students. I'm not just "any old teacher;" I am a creative artist and Nationally Certified Teacher of Music. I compose and perform my own music, enter it into competitions, and I help my students do the same. I also volunteer and serve in multiple professional organizations in my field. I also have to serve as a judge in music competitions. It is hard, dedicated work!

I have reached out to Thumbtack support a few times, and I am told that my profile is very strong. But I wonder if I am missing something because most of the leads that contact me are not a good fit. I get a lot of "how much" questions and end up losing a lot of my funds to these unsuitable leads. Sometimes I wonder if I should pass these leads to other teachers for a fee! πŸ˜† It would be very helpful if Thumbtack had some sort of conversion rate meter that shows the percentage of leads that sign up for my services. I have a feeling that mine is very low.

If I do end up with leads that sign up for my services, a good portion of them are students that do not practice. And it is very hard for me, a competitive teacher and artist, to continue teaching these students who are stuck on the same lesson week after week. I do offer different tiered plans so that I can still serve these students, but some of them end up picking the wrong one despite me recommending a different plan. I also don't really want to have to teach these non-practicing students. I even have a contract that says that they can be removed from lessons if they don't practice for a certain amount of time, but because I am so desperate to keep the income, and I have no new students to replace the existing ones with, so I end up keeping less-than-ideal students.