Can dealing with negative customer interactions actually help your business?

perrysto
perrysto Community Leader Posts: 3

In response to a recent question from another Community member about why Thumbtack doesn't allow us to rate customers, like other platforms such as Uber:

I am a fellow Pro and have had moments of frustration with this myself, thinking rating customers would be beneficial as well. I have since changed my perspective on the subject, let me explain why...

Customers want...

• quality
  • their need(s) met
  • value
  • affordability
  • to deal with a service that cares about their satisfaction

Customers determine this by...

• evaluating reviews
  • looking for referrals
  • evaluating how the business deals with other customers
  • evaluating the product/service

The Uber example is a great one because passenger ratings provide a level of assurance to both the driver and the passenger. These ratings are particularly valuable because the average Uber passenger takes 5.7 trips per month and most customers remain active for years, meaning there are tens (even hundreds) of interactions to rate.

This is not as cut and dry with Thumbtack as the overwhelming majority of customers will not return to the platform for a similar/repeat service (ex: if a Pro provides service that lends itself to repeat bookings - like a therapist, personal trainer, etc - the client will not return to the platform for subsequent bookings). So, the ability to produce the type of volume in ratings that makes the Uber system so valuable is not as easy on Thumbtack.