Opportunities Are Not Really Opportunities

Options

When is Thumbtack going to stop hiding the messages that are sent from Pros to job posters via the Opportunities?

The messages are NOT put in the job poster's Thumbtack profile inbox.

They are HIDDEN under a section called "Pros who want to work with you".

See pics attached for a visual of how this works.

For this job example, I was logged into my job poster account. I only contacted Advantage Contracting Services, LLC.

Marshall Contracting saw my post, either from an email or the Opportunities tab. They sent me a message through their Thumbtack profile. (Pic 1) The message did not go to my Thumbtack inbox (Pic 2). I had to click on Marshall Contracting's profile to see their message. (Pic 3).

I can figure this out because I am a Thumbtack Pro and know basically how the platform works. But the average job poster is not going to know there are other Pros sending them messages.

Hiding these messages makes zero sense. And it actually hurts Thumbtack for 2 reasons:

1). Thumbtack is losing money by not having these contacts made and therefore Pros being charged for the contact.

2) It hurts the brand from a job poster perspective. The job poster doesn't connect with a Pro that can do their job, so the job poster walks away from Thumbtack thinking "Well, that website didn't really work. I don't think I'll try that again next time."

Comments

• Matt
    Matt Posts: 155
    Options

Thank you for posting! I have always been curious what the client sees on their end when they receive an opportunity. The staff have always been cagey about telling us exactly how it is shown.

• DustiO
    DustiO Administrator, Moderator Posts: 1,625
    Options

I agree we could do better about making the app more understandable on the customer side — and lots of work is being done to make it better currently. I would suggest dropping this feedback to support@thumbtack.com as well, to be sure it's logged. Thank you!

• STL_Shooter78