Cost of Leads as a Photographer and Refunds

Options
ROGUEPhotography1927
edited October 2023 in Thumbtack Pro Rewards

Hey everyone. (apparently my post got deleted by thumbtack)

I'm at the end of my rope with Thumbtack. They seem to have trash customer service, it's not even in the u.s. although the owner lives in California?

My issues are as such, as a Pro Photographer, my regular rate is $4000 - 5000 per wedding. On thumbtack, I use it mainly for 3 months out to fill dates I haven't filled yet.

It costs me an arm and a leg per quote. I'll get about $300 a week of "inquiries" and each one costs about $70-130. My rate on Thumbtack is around $2000-2500.

I think the cost before even buying the cow is over the top ridiculous. It's not a guarantee. It's an open market for people to just inquire on me without putting another effort into speaking and I'm down another $100.

I get crap inquiries where the budget of the potential client isn't even in my preferences. I had a lady looking for a photographer for a max of $150 and my minimum is $500. Somehow I got charged $25 just for her to inquire with me. I've had the same person request multiple times and I get charged and then turned down from a refund. I've had people in other states request portraits from me and I don't get a refund even tho it's not in my preference but because "it is in your preferences". I've had people inquire for a wedding for a portrait and I spend $100 for their 1 hr portrait session and not get a refund.

Overall, when I started with thumbtack originally, it was $6-15 to quote someone. Small potatoes. Now I spend $1200 a month to potentially book 3 weddings? I get an extra one in order to pay for thumbtack now.

They have crap customer service who are severely limited, crap costs for our specific industry, and they don't do a great job at all. It seems like Thumbtack doesn't even care about listening to its business owners.