False Negative Reviews- Yes, Thumbtack Allows These to Stand Without Evidence

JulietH
JulietH Posts: 8
edited October 1 in Community News

Today, I received a negative review riddled with lies from a man named Fardad Niknam. I never provided him services because he refused to make any payment, yet Thumbtack has allowed the review to remain. I also selected that I was not hired, but Fardad confirmed the job so that he could leave a false, slanderous review on my profile. I have an email chain and proof that no payment or services were provided. Why does Thumbtack allow prospective customers to assassinate the character and quality of a Thumbtack pro without evidence? Why does Thumbtack allow slander on its forum and invite customers to destroy businesses without evaluating evidence? I have been a Thumbtack pro for 10 years and I run a 5 star business. But today, I'm a 4.9 star business because a non-client is able to leave a vindictive review. This will clearly damage my 10 year reputation as reputable business owner and Thumbtack could care less. Beware of Thumbtack users like Fardad. They insist on freebies and have zero respect for a professionals time and effort.

Comments

• DustiO
    DustiO Administrator, Moderator Posts: 1,813

@JulietH I am so sorry to hear that this happened. As a former business owner and Thumbtack pro, I feel this. However, customers are able to leave a review about any part of their experience with a Thumbtack pro (ie there could be instances where a customer doesn't move forward with a pro, because they had a negative interaction with the pro before deciding to hire them). It is unfortunate when customers choose to leave negative reviews in these situations. I would recommend replying to the review in a professional manner and explaining exactly what you laid out here - that you did not end up working with the customer, so that future potential customers can see how great you are, even when faced with a difficult customer.