Hi Everyone!

BITBLeah
BITBLeah Community Leader Posts: 13

I'm excited to be here with you on the new Thumbtack Community page!!

My name is Leah and I’m the owner of Back in the Box! I am a professional organizer who specializes in decluttering, downsizing, and packing services based in Philadelphia, PA. I am a lover of helping others, organizing (of course!), sustainability, and being an entrepreneur!

Thumbtack has been a big part of making my business successful from the very beginning and I would love to see everyone else in the Community leverage it to make theirs successful as well!  If I can help in any way to see us all win - I’m all in - so that’s why I’m here! 

As community leaders, we want this space to be a fun and productive environment.  We welcome everyone to collaborate and provide solution-based responses to questions of our fellow Thumbtack Pros! 

I have one for you - for those of you in the service industry, what is your best advice to address the cyclical nature of the business and how do you prepare for slower months?

Comments

• perrysto
    perrysto Community Leader Posts: 3
    Leah, it's a pleasure to be in this community with you. Thanks so much!

IMO - The best advice for addressing the cyclical nature of the service industry is to accept and embrace it. I've spent quite a bit of time preparing for how I think [read: wish] things should be or ideally, instead of accepting it for what it is. There are strategic advantages in cyclical/seasonal industries, one being taking time to reflect, analyze and recalibrate. If you are more of a sprinter than a distance runner, this is can really be the ideal scenario to allow for rest and recovery, as opposed to what is the sometimes unsustainable demands of running a business without breaks.
  • DustiO
    DustiO Administrator, Moderator Posts: 1,580