Why does the lead cost more than the job?!

Options

Curious how thumbtack comes up with prices honestly. I am an electrician and charge $75 to install an outdoor coach light. It takes 10 min or less. I find it difficult to charge more than that and so does the customer when it’s a 10 min job. The lead for this job cost me $102.

Nobody is making money from that except for thumbtack. Doesn’t seem right.

Comments

• DustiO
    DustiO Administrator, Moderator Posts: 1,625
    Options

Thank you for leaving this feedback! I will be sure to pass it on to the team. In the meantime I would advise lowering your Max Lead Price to a price you feel comfortable paying for those leads.

• chilogm1
    chilogm1 Posts: 57
    Options

you On max lead lower. Ever since we have this new pricing system they been charging us 3/10 time the prices. Lower your max lead price to competitive

• johnmiller
    johnmiller Posts: 2
    edited July 2023
    Options

Thumbtack's lead pricing is based on factors like demand and competition in your area. They charge more for leads when demand is high, and many pros are willing to pay. While it's not ideal that Thumbtack makes more money, they do connect you with customers. You can try adjusting your max lead price or explore other platforms with competitive pricing. The choice to use Thumbtack is yours. Hope this helps!

• Diana
    Diana Posts: 8
    Options

Thumbtack has been banking on the hard work of local businesses to have cooperate greed. The cooperate greed is so out of control these days. I've been with Thumbtack for a few years and it use to a good resource. But now it's just priced out ragiously and not being fair to the companies that utilize this advertising.

I understand this is capatlizim but the independant companies are struggling on a platform that use to be a great resource is now another example of cooperate greed. It saddens me.

• structuralguy65
    Options