Tips & tricks from successful Thumbtack pros.

Options
DustiO
DustiO Administrator, Moderator Posts: 1,628
edited October 2023 in Thumbtack Resources

As some of you know, before joining the Thumbtack team I was a business owner for over a decade (I had a wedding cake & confection company) and much of that time was spent as a Top Pro on Thumbtack.

I supported my young family during years when my partner was unable to work due to illness and through many other ups and downs. So, I feel deeply all of the struggles and successes that you all share here. I wanted to start a thread to help spread some of your tips for success, or your most important learnings as a business owner on Thumbtack. Here are some of mine:

1. Value your time and expertise — don't be afraid to charge the prices that you feel your time is worth. Remember that you have talents and expertise that not everyone possesses!
  2. Not every customer is the right fit — sometimes we get a bad vibe or just feel the customer would be difficult, and it's ok to decide not to do the job. Setting boundaries is important.
  3. Always remain positive and professional — even if you don't win the job (or decide it isn't a good fit), keep the conversation professional and leave the customer with a positive note. You never know if they might come back, or may refer you to a friend or family member.
  4. Don't be afraid to pivot — sometimes things don't go the way we thought, and that's ok! Don't be afraid to change course, try new things, and branch out.
  5. Showcase your workpictures, pictures, pictures! Customers want to see pictures of your work.
  6. Ask for reviews — don't be shy when it comes to asking for reviews. Be sure to send your review link to past customers (you can have up to 10 reviews from outside Thumbtack), ask for reviews immediately after completing the job, and set up a review request reminder through the Thumbtack app.